A Mother’s Song (version 2)

12 Jul
Dear Lord,
Have mercy on me.
My body is failing,
Can't you see?

I'm in pain,
Confused and scared.
My husband and sons,
And friends who cared,
Aren't ready to let go of me.
But the pain meds,
They don't work as well,
Why must this be?

I don't know what to do,
From the pain I want to be free.
But what of my loved ones?
How will they go on without me?

Though my health is going,
My body failing,
My heart is full,
My spirit is soaring.

My husband,
And my sons,
Though my body will be gone,
With you always I'll be,
No matter where you are.

Over you I'll be watching,
Your guardian spirit,
Residing forever in your heart,
My voice a mother's song,
Do you hear it?
Leave a Reply

