The Temple

19 May

I walk up the temple steps
Towards two aged oaken doors.
Pushing with all my strength,
The hinges creak their protest
As the doors slowly open. 

I walk across the stone floor leaving
Foot prints in the dirt that has lain
Undisturbed for years, looking to my left I see
An angry child painting on the walls
Angry, hateful words learned, and graffitti.

I walk past towering pillars
Of smooth white stone
Darkened by neglect.
In a corner of the temple cries
An insecure child with dark green eyes.

I continue to stir the dirt on the floor
Moving towards the dust covered altar
Where sits a man and a woman,
Back to back with arms crossed,
Not looking or speaking to each other.

What is this place I ask and my words
Echo through the silence. You comes
An echoing reply. I turn to see children,
Male and female of all ages,
Coming out of hiding.

This place is you, one says
And another speaks, and you are it,
And you are us, and we are you, Goo goo ga joob
I reply without thinking, bringing smiles
To all their faces, even of the angry child.

Then I must accept you all, and that
Will take time. I will need the guiding words
Of you, Akrinalithaea, I say to
The woman sitting in front of the altar
And help her to her feet.

And you, Akrinaden, listening to the wisdom
Of your sister must spur me to action,
I say to the man with haunted eyes
Whom had his back to his sister in front
Of the altar, and I help him to his feet.

A year and a day will be a good start,
To scrub clean this temple
And repair the neglect of the years gone by.
And with the guidance and acceptance
Of all of you who are me, The temple will
Be open to the God and Goddess for ever more.

Leave a Reply

