Do Not Mock Lightly Sir Dylan Thomas

23 Mar

Do not mock lightly Sir Dylan Thomas,          
Though you may think he may not hurt a fly,    
To no good end, will it come, I promise.      

Gentle sir, let not your comments be crass,    
Though of true belief on the by and by,        
Do not mock lightly Sir Dylan Thomas.          

If satirical thought you make alas,            
My head I will hang low as I do sigh,
To no good end, will it come, I promise.       

Of his brilliance you continue to razz,
Show no surprise when he gives his reply,      
Do not mock lightly Sir Dylan Thomas.          

I implore you, my friend, to show some class,  
Should his left and right raise from you a cry,
To no good end, will it come, I promise.       

On the day I attend your Hallowmas,
From wounds delivered by Him, you did die,
Do not mock lightly Sir Dylan Thomas,          
To no good end, will it come, I promise.

2 Responses to “Do Not Mock Lightly Sir Dylan Thomas”

  1. Biura Rachunkowe March 24, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    My response: Ummmmm. No.

    • therenegadepoet March 24, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Sorry you didn’t like it. It was my first attempt at the villanelle form based on Dylan Thomas’ poem. I’m not one for reading out loud so metered forms give me some difficulty. All I can do is try. Thanks for a real comment, though.

Leave a Reply

