Bitter Apples

8 Mar

I went to the barrel
And reached down in,
To pull out an apple
To liven my grin

But the apple was bitter,
Turning my grin to a frown,
And this bitterness I shared
with everyone I met in town

Soon the bitterness flowed
Across rivers and seas,
Causing strife and discord
Spreading like a disease

Almost too late
I realized what I’d done,
By sharing my bitterness
I clouded the sun

But clouds having silver linings,
This is how we learn,
By taking responsibility
For our actions, wisdom we earn

So I reached into the barrel,
For an apple so sweet,
From this day forward with lightness
And smile people I will greet

Leave a Reply

