On My Poetry

1 Feb

First of all, I would like to thank everyone whom has taken the time to view/read my poems. It makes me feel appreciated.

When I write, I am usually trying to express the emotional state I am in at the time. When I am feeling depressed my poetry tends to be dark or darkly introspective.

Sometimes I’ll just think of something like “I should care less about clocks” and my Muse will get a hold of it. She’ll start throwing lines at me and it becomes a poem. So not all my introspective poetry is dark.

Other times I read something or hear a line from a song which will evolve into a poem that takes that line in a completely different direction from what the original author or musical artist took it.

You may notice that I will be posting a number of In Memoriam poems. This is because of the number of people whom I have known as family or as classmates have passed away in the past few years. It is my way of saying they mattered to me.

Other poems I write may be from another’s point of view. This is sometimes sad and other times fun. It means I’ve made some spiritual connection with the person and I am trying to express the poem as that person would speak to the reader.

I also write poems that express my spirituality. This is the most difficult, because I have to write it in such a way as to not be disrespectful of others on a similar spiritual path as I am on and to convey to those whom are of main stream religions in a respectful way as well what my beliefs are. Some of these poems I will posts to others of my spiritual path first to make sure that they are written respectfully and are representative of the path in a factual way.

And lastly, there is the erotic/sexual poetry. This is a new genre for me. I’ve been highly sexually charged since I was a teen but with very few outlets for how to express that energy. Thanks to my friend, Red Lace, I can focus that excess sexual/sensual energy into erotic poems.

So I hope you like rollercoasters, because you never know what twists or turns my poetry will take you through from day to day. Enjoy the ride and leave a comment.

2 Responses to “On My Poetry”

  1. DimondBlogger February 1, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    i am looking forward to reading your poetry :).as i got here first.:P..hope you like my blog too The Leaves Fall

  2. Clyde Wesselhoft February 16, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    I simply want to say I am just very new to blogging and site-building and definitely liked your website. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You amazingly have really good posts. Appreciate it for sharing with us your blog.

Comments are closed.

